RSS
Aside
18 Feb

I have a branch from a maple tree leaning against the wall in my computer room.  I like to have a bit of nature in my house and the branch is perfect.  It’s about five feet tall and has many branches and twigs all over it.  From its branches and twigs dangle a lot of different ornaments that I have made over the years.  I made them using brown paper decorated with gold paint randomly sponged over it.

I particularly like to reuse brown paper bags from a shopping trip or brown wrapping paper for these projects.  There are so many textures and finishes to brown paper; so projects using this paper can look anything from homey to very classy.  And the paper seems to fit into a lot of decor styles.

I like to decorate the paper by stamping, brushing or sponging gold metallic paint onto it to give it an interesting textured look.  I use various found objects for the stamping.  I will sometimes make stencils and use those for decorating the paper.

When the paint is dry I cut shapes from the paper and hang the shapes from a fine thread or a ribbon.  Sometimes I cut strips and weave them into shapes.  I make little bags or envelopes to fill with tiny gifts.  I will also wrap gifts in the decorated paper.

I hang the ornaments from my Christmas tree or from a curtain rod or from a branch of one of the shrubs or trees in my backyard.   (The ornaments don’t last long outside, but they look nice.)  These paper shapes also look great in a mobile.

When my ornaments turn in a breeze or a tiny draft and the light touches the little gold patches the effect is very pretty.  The touches of gold do not overwhelm the eye or take away from the visual effect of the space where they are hanging.

The process to make these brown paper shapes is very simple and the results very satisfying.  The projects are very easy on the pocketbook, and I enjoy looking for the perfect place to hang my new ornaments in my home.

It’s getting to be time for me to make some new ornaments for my maple branch!

My maple tree branch and my brown paper ornaments

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2013 in Art, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “My maple tree branch and my brown paper ornaments

  1. Kristi

    February 20, 2013 at 1:47 am

    That sounds amazing! I want to see a photo!

     
  2. breannaldh

    February 20, 2013 at 6:07 pm

    I have to learn how to get photos into my computer and then get them on here. I will learn soon and post a picture for you!

     
  3. lista de email

    March 6, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    i don’t know if it is suitable but you could make some tips for writing in a blog. that would help a lot. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

     
    • breannaldh

      March 11, 2013 at 5:56 pm

      Sorry for the late reply. I certainly will think about your suggestion.:) Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and, especially, to comment!!!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
