RSS

Looking through my computer room window

18 Feb

I really like the room where I have my computer.  I can see out the window onto my porch, deck and into part of the backyard.  I have a lot of shrubs and a few trees in my backyard.  There are plenty of spaces for birds to sit and/or build nests.

There is a pair of cardinals that comes to visit and sit in one of my dogwood shrubs.  The female will search for food under the shrubs while the male keeps watch above her.  He  seems to sit on the same branch every time he comes into the yard.  I will watch him as he sits.  He is so bright and cheery against the dull branches of the shrubs and the grayness of the light when it is cloudy.

Once in a while the male will fly onto the power line that comes to the house from the telephone pole at the back of our property.  He sits on the wire, seemingly surveying his territory, and sings his chirpy song.  When I hear it I think of spring.

As the days get longer, and the sunlight gets more intense, I’ve noticed that the male is becoming a little lighter red and a touch more green in color.  He isn’t quite as easy to see when he is perched on his favorite branch.  The female is getting harder to see as well.

Soon the pull to mate will have the pair looking for a safe nesting spot, and they will start their new family.  I have never seen where they nest nor have I seen the fledgling cardinals flying in my yard.  Every year I hope to see the babies, but so far, no luck.

Maybe I’ll see the babes this year.  I look forward to that possibility!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 18, 2013 in The Great Outdoors, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Looking through my computer room window

  1. Kristi

    February 20, 2013 at 1:48 am

    OOOH! I hope you get to see the babies! Cardinals are so gorgeous. I grew up in Colorado and we didn’t have them here, so I still get super-excited each time I see one here in VA.

     
  2. breannaldh

    February 24, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    Me, too! last year a bird built a nest under my porch just at my eye level. I got to watch the parents raise the babies and see them fledge!!!!

     
    • breannaldh

      February 28, 2013 at 8:14 pm

      Are you saying that someone re-blogged me? That’s almost as awesome as the drawings you made. I LOVE them.:)
      You, sir, have a wicked sense of humor, and I do mean wicked.:P

      I’ve really enjoyed doing this with you. Hope we can do it again!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
